Seeking life wherever it is expressed.

A Parable – The Prodigal Son’s Older Brother


A Parable – The Prodigal Son’s Older Brother

One day their was a very mature young Christian man. He was hard working and had served God faithfully for many many years. He had never neglected any of God’s commands. He has been in Church his whole life. He taught Sunday School, attended Sunday night service and taught a children’s class on Wednesday nights. His motto is: I follow God’s word so if the Bible says to do it I do it.

This mature young Christian man also had a younger brother. This brother had never gone to church. When he was younger he had always been a very happy outgoing guy. After high school he lived the party life got in with the wrong crowd and ended up becoming a drug addict. During these days of drug addiction he had lied to, stolen from and caused much pain to his friends and parents. One day this young man found himself in a back ally looking at a half eaten throw away big mac. As he put the burger to his mouth to eat he wondered aloud if this is all that life is. He began to think of his parents and the way they loved one another, he remembered other good loving people he had met in his life, laughing with them and enjoying life. He wanted to be around people like that again. He got up and began to clean himself up. He got into a free drug rehab program the city had set up, was able to go on job interviews and then got hired. After only a few months he went to visit his parents and older brother. He shared his story with them all and thanked them for the love that they had was given to him as a child. Over the next year this young man rose in the company that hired him and given a position of Jr Vice President, he met a beautiful and funny young lady who he was engaged to and he had purchased a beautiful new home just a block away from his parents house. The President of the company he worked for offered to throw a party in this young man’s honor and sent invitations to all of his family and friends. The older brother received this invitation and read these words

To friends and family of my newest Jr Vice President.
I invite you all to attend a celebration of life. There is no one I know who has demonstrated more love, honor, hard work, and the graceful determination to be the best than my newest Jr Vice President.
He represents for me everything that is good in this world. As all who know him know his motto:
I have found a voice in my heart that I follow, I call the voice Love.
Please join us for this 5 course meal in his honor.

With this the older brother became very angry and said why oh why God does my brother get blessed when he is still so worldly. Why does he get a great promotion, why does he find a wonderful girl to be his wife. Since I was young I have read and followed your word. I have faithfully attended Church every week and on Wednesday’s. I volunteer for as many programs and help days as possible but why do I never get honored. I pray but why do you never seem to answer me. I am a good person but my brother who is a recovering drug addict, a thief, a liar and has never set foot in a church is being honored as someone who represents everything that is good in the world. God you are the only thing that is good so I will not attend this party and honor you!

And God said: My son, I have always loved you and have wanted to give you the desire of your heart and it is from your heart that I long to hear. Your many works and ministry have kept you very busy and my desire is that you come and rejoice with Me in the return of your brother. Your younger brother got lost and was unaware of who I really was. But I never forgot him nor have I ever left him. When life became so hard for him he began to remember love and desire love. He remembered the way your parents loved each other, loved you and loved him. He remembered the love of friends and he desired to have that love back in his life. You have always called me Father but your brother has know me as Love. You read about me in Church your brother watched me display myself through your parents relationship. If you really want to honor me then honor your brother because it is in his life that I am displayed.

One response

  1. A great reminder! Jesus gave a number examples of people who even did signs and wonders in His Name who were not able to enter in because He didn’t KNOW them. Just His nature.. who He is.. demands a relationship. He is, after all: LOVE. There’s so many of us who are trying to work our way to heaven, but heaven is in our heart. The older brother is so self focused. I feel sorry for him.
    .. thanks, Chris
    Ron

    March 3, 2010 at 4:50 pm

Leave a Reply

