Seeking life wherever it is expressed.

The Mystic Way


The Mystic Way

For Ron! – The biggest stumbling block for the mystic way is our thoughts – “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD. Isa.55:8
This is Spiritual warfare and it is one that is waged inside of all Mystic’s – Most Religion goes the way of the Mind which is doctrine, teachings and traditions. It is the Mystic that goes the way of the Spirit – “The wind blows where it wishes and you hear the sound of it, but do not know where it comes from and where it is going; so is everyone who is born of the Spirit.” (Christ Jesus – John 3:8) So the way of the Mystic is in Spirit and it drives those who need doctrine, proof texts, and traditions crazy. Just see how the religious reacted to Jesus the Mystic.

Mysticism (from the Greek μυστικός, mystikos, an initiate of a mystery religion)[1] is the pursuit of communion with, identity with, or conscious awareness of an ultimate reality, divinity, spiritual truth, or God through direct experience, intuition, instinct or insight. Wikipedia’s Definition


Ps.46:10 Be still and know that I am God

What I have been doing or practicing is a move from my mind and thoughts about God, Jesus, the Bible to my knowing Spirit. Spirit is not flesh it is the “Heavenly Treasure in Earthen Vessels” To study or focus on the Vessel is not very productive to living by the Spirit. One passage of Paul’s really struck me when he said:
(note: I find only one real purpose for the scriptures – To help remove any and all stumbling blocks that keep you from going within and having face to face intimacy with God – that’s it! The scriptures were not written to teach you but to point you within – it is inside you that the knowing already is – you just go within and discover or become conscience of what is.)

2 Corinthians 5:16-17 From now on, then, we do not know anyone in a purely human way. Even if we have known Christ in a purely human way, yet now we no longer know Him like that. Therefore if anyone is in Christ, there is a new creation; old things have passed away, and look, new things have come.

Over my life I have spent way to much time studying about the human Jesus Christ and not enough time getting to know the Christ within me. Now I thought I was getting to know the life within me by studying about Christ, his nature and ways but in reality I was reading and trying to act like what was in me instead of living by what was in me. Big difference! Doing something because you think you are supposed to and doing something because everything in you wants to is like night and day. Getting to the point of trusting the spirit within your heart over your thoughts is the difference.

Col.1:23,27…This gospel has been proclaimed in all creation under heaven, and I, Paul, have become a minister of it….. this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.

Following Jesus (the human vessel that contained Christ) I discovered was not where I needed to place my hope but in following the gospel of Jesus I discovered something different. We seem to always look to things outside of our-self’s for guidance even though we all know the counselor was given to live within us. It seems may just think of the Spirit as the interpreter of the Bible for us instead of the voice and guidance of the Lord to us.

Luke 4:18-21,43
18 The Spirit of the Lord is on Me, because He has anointed Me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent Me
to proclaim freedom to the captives
and recovery of sight to the blind,
to set free the oppressed,
19 to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.
…….”Today as you listen, this Scripture has been fulfilled.”
“I must proclaim the good news about the kingdom of God to the other towns also, because I was sent for this purpose.”

* My Spirit has been captive to my fleshly nature i.e. ego (what I think of things)
* My Spiritual eyes and ears have not been used much (spiritual eyes and ears are found and can be physically felt within your heart and at your forehead)
* I as Spirit have not been able to function because of the fleshly nature
(the fleshly nature is one of judgment – what is right and wrong, good and evil – right doctrine- wrong doctrine)
* The kingdom of God is not anywhere in creation but within me. (Its not in this church, that church, this group, that group – it is an individual thing between you and God)

The quest for me was not to try and act like Jesus in so many ways, but one – to see and listen to the voice of the Father within. This is the “Way” he showed mankind to live. This is why he told his disciples that they know the Way – they had watched him do it for 3 years.
Jesus said: So the things that I speak, I speak just as the Father has told Me.” Jn.12:50
Jesus said: I do nothing on My own. But just as the Father taught Me, I say these things. Jn.8:28
Jesus said: because I do not seek My own will, but the will of Him who sent Me. Jn.5:30

All we really know of Jesus was that he did the Fathers will. Everything we read that he said or did was from following the Father.

When Jesus taught his disciples how to pray he taught them to say: “…..Thy kingdom come they WILL be done on earth as in heaven.”
Doing the will of the Father was the life Jesus lived out before man and it is what he asks us to follow.
Instead many have made him the Savior God who has come down to save us little helpless humans and not Son of man who came to show us how to live a victorious life in relationship with the Father by doing his perfect will. Jesus said: Be perfect as my heavenly Father is perfect – we say: He is not speaking literally.

Paul goes on to say:
Col.2:2-8 have the knowledge of God’s mystery – Christ….all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge are hidden… walk in Him, rooted and built up in Him and established in the faith, just as you were taught, …..Be careful that no one takes you captive through philosophy and empty deceit based on human tradition, based on the elemental forces of the world, and not based on Christ.

Christ is the Spirit within you speaking the words and will of the Father. (Scripture does say that the same Spirit that dwelt in Jesus now dwells in you – not a similar one-the same one – If Jesus the man was able to hear and walk in the will of the Father why can’t we – unless you don’t think that Jesus was really a man as most Christian don’t)

Why are you doing what you are doing – If because of doctrine, the Bible says…., human tradition, religious tradition – if it is not from within you then it is from without in other words it is from the world.

What I discovered was that what I really know to be real is what I have experienced for myself – just because someone told me or I read it in a book means nothing. If my relationship is based on what I have read or what someone else has told me it means I don’t really have a active relationship with the one I claim to love and follow.
Real knowing is intimacy not the accumulation of information and facts.
Having Intimacy takes spending time together.

How do I practice this intimacy?
Here are a couple of basic ways
Silence and Stillness I have found to be a wonderful environment for the operation or moving of the Spirit. I have a room that I have made where I can go and spend 20-30 min in silence or with sounds like a crystal singing bowl or meditation tapes with sounds.

I also practice the 15-20 sec every hour where you close your eyes and just listen to your breathing, or the ringing in your ears (also know as the song of the Lord) Still yourself and your thoughts. In stillness this you create space for the Spirit within yourself. You will always be filled to the capacity that you can hold.
If you take a way candle and light it you will see that over time it creates a cavity and the light can be seen burning through the wax. The same is true of the Spirit operating within man.

I like to describe this time (the 20-30 min) with the Lord as “on the couch snuggle time” – its not necessarily a time where we are being taught or talking but simply a time spent together, just enjoying each others presence. In these practices you will begin to notice your awareness of the Lord increase – You will begin to see Him, hear Him and find Him in places you never thought possible.

Mind renewal is not accomplished through study – that’s like trying to fix the mind with the mind. Mind renewal takes place as your mind is allowed to observes what the Spirit reveals through spiritual eyes that begin to see God everywhere and ears that hear Him speak through everything. Its not a discovery of something new its a seeing of what already is but in light and not darkness. Our fleshly mind is dark but the Spirit is light walk in the Spirit, walk in the light and you live like never before.

To begin to intimately know God as He is and not as our minds conceive is a mind blowing experience that changes the way you see everything. The Mystic is the one called to this kind of knowing. Like Moses he ventures up the mountain where other fear to go and like the children of Israel other desire to hear from what he has experienced. The Mystic’s life is not for every Christian but for those who have to its a call for face to face encounters with the Lord of Love. The experiences are life changing and ones that take you from the depths of despair to the heights of a knowing love that fills to abundant overflowing.

A book that might help some or might not is called Secrets of the Lost Mode of Prayer by Gregg Braden. Its a small book that gives an interestingly real perspective on Prayer.

“There are beautiful and wild forces within us.” With these words, the mystic St. Francis described what ancient traditions believed was the most powerful force in the universe – the power of prayer. For more than 20 years, Gregg Braden has searched for evidence of a forgotten form of prayer that was lost to the West following the biblical edits of the early Christian Church. In the 1990s, he found and documented this form of prayer still being used in the remote monasteries f central Tibet. He also found it practiced in sacred rites throughout the high deserts of the American Southwest.


Keep walking, though there’s no place to get to. Don’t try to see through the distances. That’s not for human beings. Move within, but don’t move the way fear makes you move. – Rumi

One response

  1. Thank you very much, brother! I think the thing that amazes me most is how you said all you said in so few words.
    I too have discovered some of what you described in your own life. The process now is letting all those entrenched “external” things go .. learning to die to self and turning inward to know Christ Himself.
    One of my favorite statements from Paul is one he made to the Corinthians: God is faithful who has called you into the fellowship of His Son. It’s a statement that is easy to skim over if you don’t have eyes to see. If you take that statement and meditate on it a bit, you see not only that God is FAITHFUL… and all that that means… but that He has CALLED us (everyone) into something wonderful: the FELLOWSHIP of His Son. The same fellowship that has been going on in the Godhead since Eternity Past and is still going on today and will still be happening in Eternity Future … a fellowship we have been called to.
    I realize that without experience with Him all of this is just words. We need to “practice the presence of God”.
    The Kingdom of Heaven is within us and to me it’s very clear that we have to turn inward to really behold Him and hear Him. ( There’s also a corporate beholding in God’s House… but that’s the other side of the same coin….)
    Your ‘testimony’ is very encouraging and I trust the Lord will continue to draw you nearer to Himself. After all, He is faithful (amongst so many other things).
    Thanks again, Christopher. I appreciate you.

    February 19, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Leave a Reply

