Seeking life wherever it is expressed.

You Are not Your Thoughts


thinkerYou are not your thoughts. Your thoughts are something that your brain presents before you to accept or reject. An accepted thought may become a belief or simply is a passing thought. A thought that has be accepted and becomes a belief directs the way in which we live. The question then is “What or Who is the source for the thoughts you have come the believe?”

Isa.55:7-8 Let the wicked forsake his way And the unrighteous man his thoughts;………. “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD.

If a person is his thoughts then Isaiah would be asking some people to forsake their very beings.

Gen.3:4-11 The serpent said to the woman, “You surely will not die! “For God knows that in the day you eat from it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.” When the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was a delight to the eyes, and that the tree was desirable to make one wise, she took from its fruit and ate; and she gave also to her husband with her, and he ate. Then the eyes of both of them were opened, and they knew that they were naked; and they sewed fig leaves together and made themselves loin coverings. They heard the sound of the LORD God walking in the garden in the cool of the day, and the man and his wife hid themselves from the presence of the LORD God among the trees of the garden. Then the LORD God called to the man, and said to him, “Where are you?” He said, “I heard the sound of You in the garden, and I was afraid because I was naked; so I hid myself.” And He said, “Who told you that you were naked?

To say “Who told you” is the same as saying “Who presented you with this thought”

In the Genesis story Eve is said to have the thought that “the tree was desirable to make one wise.” Where does this thought come from? The serpent said “you will be like God, knowing good and evil.” It was the serpent who presented the thought that Eve accepted, believed and then acted upon. The fact that the thought passed through her mind was the result of hearing the serpent – but no sin took place at by having the thought. Sin was a result of accepting and believing the thought. It is the belief in the thought that was the sin, and that sin led to eating from the tree.

Who told you that you were naked” God asked. It was the serpent who said “your eyes will be opened” in this the serpent was cunning in his presentation of the thought that their eyes were closed. In accepting this thought presented by the serpent, and believing that their eyes were in fact closed, they then had the thought that what they had accepted from God’s word as real and true was in fact a lie because they were naked (having eyes that were closed and unable to see the reality of what is).

Divine Perception is Reality

Mental Perception is Limited and Therefore Unreliable

Our connection and relationship with Divine Perception (aka Spirit) takes place within a our spirits. It is in the spirit that what is true is able to be perceived and then presented before the mind. In this process the mind is then renewed by understanding the truth that the spirit perceived.

As Paul says in his letter to Corinth

2 Cor.10:5,7 We are destroying speculations and every lofty thing raised up against the knowledge of God, and we are taking every thought captive to the obedience of Christ, You are looking at things as they are outwardly. ……. (NASB)

René Descartes – I think therefore I am And so something which I thought I was seeing with my eyes is in fact grasped solely by the faculty of judgment which is in my mind. In this manner, Descartes proceeds to construct a system of knowledge, discarding perception as unreliable and instead admitting only deduction as a method. end

I Am because I AM and I think because I Am. I Am is above my thinking and even without thought I Am perceived by the Divine I AM, therefore, I Am.

I like what Einstein says here although I wish he had used the name God instead of Universe but the truth remains the same.

 “A human being is part of a whole, called by us the Universe, a part limited in time and space. He experiences himself, his thoughts and feelings, as something separated from the rest a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness. This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circles of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of nature in its beauty.” Albert Einstein

I am not my thoughts and Christ has no desire for me to identify with them or be imprisoned by them. I will capture them instead, bind them and present them before Christ in Spirit – If he accepts them then I will –  but those thoughts that find no place in Him I will reject as lies and death.

The thought I have accepted and believe is Life in Jesus Christ and it is here that I will rest.

One response

  1. 1 Chron. 28:9 ” As for you, my son Solomon, know the God of your father and serve Him with a whole heart and a willing mind; for the LORD searches all hearts, and understands every intent of the thoughts. If you seek Him, He will let you find Him; but if you forsake Him, He will reject you forever.”
    It is true, there is more about what we say and do, then what what think. And, the bible says we will be judge by every idle word, not every idle thought,(thank God)
    Math. 12:36: “But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment.”
    Having said that, it is still important that we guard our thoughts. Lots of things start in the mind. it is one thing to have a fleeting thought,, another to obsess on evil.

    March 28, 2009 at 2:35 am

Leave a Reply

