Seeking life wherever it is expressed.

The Confession of Sin One to Another


The Confession of Sin One to Another

 James 5:16 Therefore, confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another so that you may be healed. The effective prayer of a righteous man can accomplish much. NASB

What is Sin? – I suggest that sin is the fruit or outward manifestation of man’s rebellion to live by the knowledge of good and evil. Man choose to live by our interpretation of what we see and our understanding of what we think is.

Biblical Example – Num.22:24-34 The story – …Then the angel of the LORD stood in a narrow path of the vineyards, with a wall on this side and a wall on that side. When the donkey saw the angel of the LORD, she pressed herself to the wall and pressed Balaam’s foot against the wall, so he struck her again. …..When the donkey saw the angel of the LORD, she lay down under Balaam; so Balaam was angry and struck the donkey with his stick. …..Then the LORD opened the eyes of Balaam, and he saw the angel of the LORD standing in the way with his drawn sword in his hand; and he bowed all the way to the ground. The angel of the LORD said to him, “Why have you struck your donkey these three times? Behold, I have come out as an adversary, because your way was contrary to me. “But the donkey saw me and turned aside from me these three times. If she had not turned aside from me, I would surely have killed you just now, and let her live.” Balaam said to the angel of the LORD, “I have sinned, for I did not know that you were standing in the way against me. Now then, if it is displeasing to you, I will turn back.”

Balaam did not yet have eyes to see what even the donkey could see. Balaams was unable to properly interpret or understand the actions of his donkey. Balaam was in sin because of his inability to properly see what really was. To live by the reasoning of a mind consumed by thinking and judging what is right and what is wrong, good and evil, good doctrine- bad doctrine is death. If our mind, our reasoning and understanding are the source and well spring of our actions the end result or fruit is death.

So how does it benefit us to “confess our sins one to another” ?

I would suggest that instead of confessing the fruit or manifestation of sin – which is what typically has gone on – we should be confessing the thinking or reasoning which is the“sin that dwells within you”. It is the thinking in the un-renewed mind that sins and it is this MINDSET or false “I” that leads to the acts or visible expression of sin.

Paul writes about the two different “I’s” : Rom.7:14-20 14 For we know that the Law is spiritual, but I I (knowledge of good and evil mindset KGE) am of flesh, sold into bondage to sin. For what I am doing, I (New Man) do not understand; for I (New Man) am not practicing what I would like to do, but I am doing the very thing I hate. … 17So now, no longer am I (new man) the one doing it, but sin which dwells in me. For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh; for the willing is present in me, but the doing of the good is not. For the good that I want, I (KGE) do not do, but I (KGE) practice the very evil that I (New Man) do not want. But if I (KGE) am doing the very thing I (New Man) do not want, I (New man) am no longer the one doing it, but sin which dwells in me (a.k.a. The KGE).

It is this Sin or Old man/the knowledge of good and evil mindset that exists within our bodies that we should be confessing one to another. As we confess to one another the old thought process that we have been captive to and identify with, we then allow our true identity to be, and we are able to break away from those thoughts. By this activity we acknowledge that we are holy children of God.

I am not my false mindset.mindset1

I am more than the sum of my thoughts and judgments.

It is in this process of confession of “sin thinking” that our minds are able to be transformed, renewed and healed by the Life within us. This is what Paul is talking about when he writes in Romans 12:2 And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.

Real life Example – My family had moved to a city in the Philippines in 1979, we built a house in this city and just when we were finished my father found out that the leader of the group of people we were with was a thief. They refused to do anything about it and so we ended up leaving the house we built and Island we were on and moved. In the next city a man approached my father at a Christian conference with a dilemma that was happening in the church he was a part of. The pastor was having affairs with different women in the church and this man was asking about what should be done. My father counseled him and then later my father was asked by this gentleman to come and help them. It was in this group of people that I would end up meeting my wife of the past 20 wonderful years and the eight children we have.

One could say I have the sinful acts of two men to thank for the life and family I enjoy today. Or you can believe it was just luck or chance. Or you can begin to think and see the reality of what Paul wrote in Rom.8:28 And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.

Right now can you see and believe that everything happening around you your Father has allowed for your good? Nothing can happen to you where good will not come from it – just open your eyes to see it. Confess the lying thoughts that say “nothing good could ever come from …………………………” Believe the truth that where you are right now is where you need to be right now as you look inside to the Spirit. If you were not where you are right now you might never of had this opportunity to call out to Him and discover and experience what you are  discovering and experiencing  within your own being. Your answer is not in the future – your hope is not in the future- abundant life is not in the future the kingdom of God is not in the future it is all right inside you NOW ready express itself on this earth NOW!

There is only one sin that we as Christians, Jews, Muslims, Hindu, Heathen yes Humans participate in.

It is this one SIN that we need to confess one to another

 It is rebellious unbelief in the Truth

When we confess what we are not we turn and enter the door to actually seeing what is True. The door frame is called Faith – once we pass through faith’s doorway we enter into a New world of being where are seeing, thinking and knowing is true. This is the world that Jesus walked in and saw while he walked on this earth. This is the reality that Jesus invited all men into – He called it the Kingdom of God. You have probably caught a gimps of it from time to time – Jesus has called us all to live in this kingdom always.

Do you think that what your natural eye sees, ears hear and emotions feel is what is real and true?

Is your existence directed by your limited 5 senses?

 Confess the sin of living by and leaning on this limited intellect called “your own understanding” – your own understanding is also called the “pride of life”.

Live by the Spirit of Truth submitting your intellect to the Spirit of Truth that is within you– This Spirit has become one with you – Get to know the Spirit of Truth – Get to know the real you that Christ has made new and you will experience the reality of Jesus words.  And you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” John 8:32

One response

  1. dhlucas3

    Hi Chris,

    I really enjoyed the article. I was actually trying to come up with a working definition of sin and the article helped a lot to solidify my thoughts. Will share the atricle with the brothers I am am meeting with now.

    IN CHRIST.
    David H. Lucas

    March 15, 2009 at 4:31 am

Leave a Reply

