Seeking life wherever it is expressed.

I am not a Christian Anymore


 

I am not a Christian anymore. Christianity has become a religion of following the ways of a man who walked this earth about 2000 years ago. – I desire to follow no flesh present or historical.

Paul wrote: 2 Corinthians 5:16 Therefore, from now on, we regard no one according to the flesh. Even though we have known Christ according to the flesh, yet now we know Him thus no longer.

My thinking is not Atheist – One who does not believe in the existence of God.

My thinking is not Agnostic – One who believes that God is unknowable.

My thinking is not only spiritual nor is my thinking only missional.

I seek after the Truth – A Truthist – What is a Truthist? One who is seeking, knowing and living in the freedom of Truth.

Jesus said: John 8:32 And you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” NLT

 

Truth transcends religion, race, sex, life form, Truth IS. Most people’s concept of God comes from a historical perspective i.e. The Bible, The Koran, The Tao Te Ching, etc. – All of these books speak of truth but are not the Truth. Truth IS, and it cannot be contained or captured by any one thing. Truth is free, free as the wind and it is why those who live by it are always free in the present moment.

 

Truth has walked the earth but flesh could not contain the being called Truth.

 

John 14:6 Jesus told him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me.

 

This Jesus who has been taken captive by the Christian religion is now breaking free from a Christianity has taken His name in vain for to long. The wars and battles fought in the name of Jesus were all lies. The money collected in the name of Jesus, the building built in the name of Jesus, the teachings that were said to be from Jesus and the hatred and rejection of the people of this world in the name of Jesus is over. The labor has already begun and the birth that all of creation awaits is taking place. The call to “come out of her my people” is being heard by those who seek the Truth above doctrines and traditions.

 Paul said: Rom 8:19-22 For the anxious longing of the creation waits eagerly for the revealing of the sons of God. ….the creation itself also will be set free from its slavery to corruption into the freedom of the glory of the children of God. For we know that the whole creation groans and suffers the pains of childbirth together until now.

What is being birthed? We ARE! The Spirit is leading and birthing Seekers of the truth out of the womb of “wilderness wanderings,” and into All Truth. The call to “come out of her my people” is a call to be born from the womb of the church in the wilderness, out of the place of mixture where we have been leaning to walk by the Spirit – out of Pentecost. We are being called to be birthed through the Jordan river baptism into the promised Land, our inheritance – a Life completely in the Spirit of God and expressing the Life of God on earth – Tabernacles – The place where we are always present with Oneness (Christ in you) – and experience the promised Rest here in the New Earth.

(The Red Sea baptism was a baptism out of Egypt “The world” and into a time of getting to know and believe God, His voice and His ways.)

John 16:12-15(The Message)

“I still have many things to tell you, but you can’t handle them now. But when the Friend comes, the Spirit of the Truth, he will take you by the hand and guide you into all the truth there is. He won’t draw attention to himself, but will make sense out of what is about to happen and, indeed, out of all that I have done and said. He will honor me; he will take from me and deliver it to you. Everything the Father has is also mine. That is why I’ve said, ‘He takes from me and delivers to you.’

Today is NOW!

Rom.8:14 For all who are being led by the Spirit of God, these are sons of God.

6 responses

  1. Hi, Chris

    I understand what you’re saying, and I agree with you. There are some salient points here, though, that I think are important–though not anything we should denominate over, certainly. I kind of think that we don’t disagree that much in any case. I think the paraphrase/translation you’re using for 2 Co 5:16 is a little misleading. Here’s what the Holman says: (It just happens to be among my faves–there are many other excellent ones that say much the same.)

    2Co 5:16 So we have stopped evaluating others from a human point of view. At one time we thought of Christ merely from a human point of view. How differently we know Him now!

    So the emphasis here is our point of view, not Christ’s continuing or not continuing to have a human body. Paul never knew Jesus in His human body, as far as we’re aware. I suppose it’s possible he may have seen Him preach, but I suspect he didn’t.

    Jesus rose from the dead–His body rose from the dead. It was no longer in the tomb. He took this body (changed, glorified, but still human) to Heaven with Him. Why would we suppose He’s no longer wearing it? That’s kind of Gnostic, really, because nothing in scriptures would lead me to believe that He did shed that body, but of course the Gnostics believe that matter is intrinsically evil, so they would need to suppose that Jesus had shed the “evil” flesh and blood body.

    I’m sorry to differ over a point of doctrine when you’re so excited. Gnosticism has been a real problem in the church, though, and has found its way into all sorts of places it didn’t have any business being, and caused quite a lot of the troubles you’re talking about here. It starts out small–almost innocent, but very insidious.

    However, as to the point of your post, I’m excited, too! I can’t wait for the unveiling of the sons (and daughters!) of God. You’re certainly right on there. More than that–to see Jesus face to face. Oh yeah!

    Grace and peace,

    Cindy

    March 4, 2009 at 7:57 am

  2. We are ignorant of the things of the Spirit unless/until the Spirit Himself shows us “things to come” which shall glorify the Savior.

    http://mssc54.wordpress.com/2009/02/24/the-story-book-the-bible/

    March 4, 2009 at 6:37 pm

  3. brotherjohnny

    Great post, Chris.

    I totally appreciate the general thrust of what you’re saying here, and can relate personally.

    While I am basically frustrated and ‘over’ what the word “Christian” has come to mean in the contemporary world that we live in. I still do appreciate what it truly means to be ‘like Messiah’… but for me, the word “Christian” should be used in a more descriptive way… as an adjective (when used honestly by -other people-) and used less as a label for ones self.

    I guess I do have a question though. When you said that:

    “Truth has walked the earth but flesh could not contain the being called Truth.”

    How does this harmonize with the fact that Christ, the Living Word who Is Truth, *became* flesh?

    The way that I see it is that Jesus (including his physical body) was and is the actual living breathing embodiment of truth…
    As are those who are being manifest as The Sons of God.

    What do you think?

    March 4, 2009 at 9:39 pm

  4. Cindy, I hope you are having a wondeful day! The 2 Cor 5:16 quote is from the NASB translation.

    One of the points I was attempting to communicate is that I have personally have never met Jesus in the flesh He walked on earth with. The Jesus I have met is from within me and from within brothers and sisters I have had encounters with. The Jesus I read about in the scriptures is great but very limited because he is not talking with me. The Jesus inside of me does talk to me – this was defined at times by the church as Gnostic – since the church believed that the only way you could here from God was through the ministers. There were many branches of Gnostic teachers and some taught about the flesh the way you indicated but most did not.
    Christopher

    March 4, 2009 at 10:51 pm

  5. Johnny,
    Jesus is Truth. But Jesus is far more than what the dust of the earth can form. As a man on earth Jesus was very limited (one place at one time). As Spirit he is able to dwell in you, me and everybody else at the same time. No one body has been able to contain Jesus, not even his own. I agree he was the embodiment of truth and now his body (his people) is the embodiment of truth. But who can see it?
    Christopher

    March 4, 2009 at 10:58 pm

  6. brotherjohnny

    Chris,
    I believe that His only limitation was that He “only did what He saw the Father do”.
    At that time, the Father revealed Himslef in one place and at one time….
    In Christ….so I agree with you there, totally…

    Since the birth of the Church, He has multiplied His expression across the face of the globe: “Christ in you (all) the hope of glory”…
    But what is significant is that He didn’t decide to ‘snuff out’ human flesh to do this…
    in fact, he needed more of it!!

    Our bodies; spirit, soul, body,….and whatever else that we are made up of, were designed to contain and express the image of YHWH Himself….
    I mention this here because there is still a very gnostic influence in the “Christian” world which seeks to create a false dichotomy of Spirit and matter, one like Cindy explains, views only “spirit” as good and “matter” as evil.

    Just wanted to explain why I posted my first comment…

    Peace!!

    March 5, 2009 at 12:57 am

Leave a Reply

