Seeking life wherever it is expressed.

The Importance of our Bible Translation


I am posting this from a conversation I had on another web site.

Chris said:  In the Garden God offers man two choices “Life” or “Knowledge about Good and Knowledge about Evil”. Jesus is quoted in John 5:39-40 (The Message) “You have your heads in your Bibles constantly because you think you’ll find eternal life there. But you miss the forest for the trees. These Scriptures are all about me! And here I am, standing right before you, and you aren’t willing to receive from me the life you say you want.

Melville said:

Hi.
Something in the middle of ths gives me pause. It’s not becaues ot the arguments presented. It’s because of a reference: “The Message”. Perhaps nothing significant hinges on it in this instance . . . not sure on that. In principle it’s the use of interpretive paraphrases to support one’s case instead of what the scripture actualy says, from the texts. We ak “like” a certain rendition but is that what it actually means, according to the Spirit of God? J.B. Phillips? Good News for Modern Man? The Living Bible? These may have a limited use for the beginnings of the faith. We don’t limit God in what he may use. But toward maturity I think we face a problem in the use of these sorts.
I say this on the premise that God’s word is precise and not subject to what people feel they like.

I said:

Hi Melville,

You say “I say this on the premise that God’s word is precise”

By God’s word I am taking it that you mean the scriptures. The scriptures say that God’s Word is Jesus Christ and I am amazed with the way Jesus speaks. It seems that for those who are open and listening can hear and even understood Jesus. But for those who are full, and who’s eyes are dull, even God coming in the flesh and raising a man from the dead would not convince them that God loves them. Even when a person takes God, beats and tortures Him and God says I forgive you because I know that you don’t understand what you are doing. Even this will not cause some people to believe that God loves Him. If God in the flesh cannot get some men to believe why do we think a book about Him will? If Jesus when he spoke in the flesh was misunderstood, and they even spoke the same language, why do we think it is so important to translate properly a letter written about Jesus. Those who have ears hear Jesus and those who don’t, don’t. I really not that interested in what a person means I am really interested in what God is speaking to me. I remember this one message a brother spoke where the Lord really ministered to me though it. He opened my understanding to some things in a great way. Now the brother speaking the message did not intend or was not trying to communicate what I got out of it but it is what the Lord spoke to me though this brothers words. Again those who’s ears are open WILL HEAR JESUS SPEAK even if they are reading the book of Mormon (that one will get me in trouble). For those who don’t get what I mean, I am not saying that the book of Mormon is truth I am saying that if God can communicate to man through a donkey it is not beyond Him to communicate to one seeking Him though any book or movie or anything, He even uses the Bible sometimes. Isn’t it really the voice of Jesus that we want to hear not the meaning of scripture. We read the scriptures not to understand them but to somehow hear His voice in the words of brothers who have come before us. What they meant we may never know but what Jesus wants to communicate to us though them is what we can hear today.
I am not one who follows the Bible I follow Jesus. I don’t believe in the Bible I believe in Jesus. The Bible is not my God, Jesus is and the Bible speaks about Him and points to Him and it is a wonderful book. I want to follow Jesus not Christianity, not Bibleology but the Person of Jesus Christ my God, my Master, my Teacher, my Brother and my Friend.

So what about the pause?        Christopher

3 responses

  1. brotherjohnny

    “In the beginning was the Message, and the Message was God….”

    January 23, 2009 at 10:10 pm

  2. “If Jesus when he spoke in the flesh was misunderstood, and they even spoke the same language, why do we think it is so important to translate properly a letter written about Jesus.”

    I’ve heard the crow that say only the KJV is acceptable and all other translations are corrupted. While I think that is somewhat of a stretch there are obvious things left out of more modern versions.

    While I do agree that “starter Bibles” are okay the problem there is that often these new Christians do not have anyone to mentor them. Some (or most, depending on your point of view and current understanding) are reluctant to move out of grammer school. Much like those who are satisfied with a church where the pastor only speaks of the love of Jesus and His forgiveness, etc. but never speaks of the Just God. Some (or most) would rather do the minimum and think they can sneak into heaven by the proverbial skin of their teeth.

    @ Chris (2nd comment 1st paraghraph) –

    “The scriptures say that God’s Word is Jesus Christ and I am amazed with the way Jesus speaks.”

    @ Chris (2nd comment last paragraph) –

    “I am not one who follows the Bible I follow Jesus. I don’t believe in the Bible I believe in Jesus.”

    Chris you seem to be saying two different things here!

    January 28, 2009 at 5:16 pm

  3. I guess I see that the Bible points us to Christ – But it is Christ that we are to believe in. I agree with your observation that many new Christians do not have anyone to mentor them. The only mentor many have is the Bible – how sad. The Bible can lead people to Jesus and for that I am glad we have it. So when I said “The scriptures say that God’s Word is Jesus Christ and I am amazed with the way Jesus speaks.” I am talking about the way Jesus speaks within me.
    And when I said “I am not one who follows the Bible I follow Jesus. I don’t believe in the Bible I believe in Jesus.”
    What I was trying to communicate is that the Bible pointed me to Jesus – I now follow Jesus but I did follow the Bible to Jesus and now He leads me not the Bible. Kind of like John the Baptist was to Jesus – People came to John and John pointed them to Jesus – John realized that he had to decrease so that Jesus would increase. The same way for the Bible in our lives – Christ needs to be the increase in our lives while the Bible decreases.

    February 7, 2009 at 3:54 pm

Leave a Reply

