Seeking life wherever it is expressed.

How I read The 10 Commandments


How I read the 10 Commandments is not as a list to follow but as a life I have been given to live by.

1. The Spirit that now lives in me follows only the voice of the Father

2. The Spirit that now lives in me does not worship the creation but the creator 

3. The Spirit that now lives in me speaks the Father’s name in life

4. The Spirit that now lives in me remembers the need for rest and considers it holy

5. The Spirit that now lives in me honors father and mother.

6. The Spirit that now lives in me does not murder

7. The Spirit that now lives in me does not commit adultry

8. The Spirit that now lives in me does not steal

9. The Spirit that now lives in me does not bear false witness against a neighbor

10. The Spirit that now lives in me does not covet anything of my neighbor’s

It is through the Spirit that lives within me that I want to live not by the attempt of my flesh to follow after a set of external laws. 

One response

  1. brotherjohnny

    Good post, Chris.

    These are ten revelations of the Lord Jesus Christ.

    Of course the rub is always in our preference of His will rather than our own….

    In our desire to be and do only what He desires to be and have done.

    I have come to realize, in my life, that there is a process of having our hearts, our souls, being conformed to the image of His.
    We begin in opposition, and over time, as we walk with Him and learn from Him, through both obedience and disobedience (although, of course, we would do well to desire obedience), we are changed from glory to glory.

    October 17, 2008 at 10:58 pm

Leave a Reply

