Seeking life wherever it is expressed.

Its Better to Sin than do Nothing!


You have to love that title.

Yesterday as I was pondering things I began to think about the Lord’s will and my or our desire to walk in it. Sometimes I have seen where a person can have so much fear of missing God’s will or not doing it the right way that they end up doing nothing. I have seen many people seek the perfect way to do church and end up never meeting with saints at all. So I thought to myself that it would be better to do anything than to do nothing. In other words it would be better to sin (do the wrong thing) as it were than to stay in a state of lukewarmness. Lukewarness is neither right or wrong it is simply doing NOTHING!

1. The best is to find and do God’s will

2. The second best is to go the wrong way (correction can happen here)

3. The worst is to allow fear or ignorance to cause you do nothing at all.

 

When I have done nothing I learn nothing. When I follow God’s will or do the opposite in both cases I have learned valuable lessons. 

 

This is why then I say (tongue in cheek)

IT IS BETTER TO SIN THAN DO NOTHING!

 Rev.3:15‘I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot; I wish that you were cold or hot. ‘So because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of My mouth.

4 responses

  1. I’m affraid I must disagree with you Brother.

    First of all if a person has so much fear that they are such fear of missing God’s will then their home church has certainly done them a great disservice.

    One of the greatest failings of the Western Church is that it misunderstands The Great Commission.

    Christ did NOT say “Go ye therefore into all the nations and get people to make decisions to follow me.”

    No, He said for us to MAKE DISCIPLES!

    It is my (current) personal belief that the local church is REQUIRED to carry out this mandate. Not to have fund raisers, fancy buildings, awesome sound and light ministry or to have a ministry to suit every person’s agenda.

    Now that is not to say that there is not (necessarily) anything wrong with those things but they certainly should come AFTER THE MAKING OF THE DISCIPLES.

    But hey, that’s just my (current) understanding.

    Lastly I think if the motive of our heart is right with God then it is virtually impossible for us to enter into sin. If we miss the mark a bit that’s where Romans 8:28 kicks in. 😉

    October 14, 2008 at 11:58 pm

  2. I am not sure where we disagree Bro

    October 15, 2008 at 12:11 am

  3. That’s one of the hazards of “communicating” via the internet. It is virtually impossible to discern “intent” correctly all the time.

    Blessings to you!

    October 15, 2008 at 12:19 am

  4. Pingback: Car Park Without White Lines? « Neodecaussade’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

