Seeking life wherever it is expressed.

Becoming a Disciple ‘Being Fully After’ Jesus Christ


A disciple is a follower and student of a mentor, teacher, or other wise figure. Wikipedia

During my life so far I have been a student of many different people. The first and foremost in my life were my parents. They taught me how to read, make my bed, use the toilet, how to relate to people, how to handle disputes, how to save money, how to live etc.. I also had my teachers in elementary school – I remember less about what they taught me then I do about my parents and others. In High School I was home schooled on the mission field so my teachers were again my parents. While I was in Bible College I had different teachers and in reality I remember very little detail about what I was taught their but I do remember the teachers. I remembered the ones I respected and liked and I remember the ones I did not respect or like. I think the three things that were important to me was first did they care. Did they show me that they cared about me and others. Secondly were they honest? What I mean by honest was did they live out or try and live out what they taught. And lastly were they knowledgeable – Did they have a working understanding about what they were trying to teach. After school was finished and I graduated from Bible College I entered the world of adulthood and working. I won’t talk about the men I worked for that were just a boss the one I want to talk about is Dustin. This was the “boss” I had when I started painting. Within the first year of working for Dustin, who was 10 years older than me, I knew he was a honest man that I respected, why? He lived out what he talked about and never tried to get me to do something that he did not do. For the next 12 years he was a good and faithful mentor and I was a good and faithful disciple. Dustin is a man who is very smart and generous with his finances, a wonderful husband, a good father and son and I learned a lot from him. Not by him teaching me how to do this or that but by watching how he handled his finances, his relationship with his wife, sons and his parents. He was a mentor to me not because he said he was going to mentor me but because I decided to be a disciple of his and he was willing to be open and share with me his life. Now during this same time many other men came and worked for Flying Colors Painting Co. and Dustin was always the same person, accepting them and being himself around them but many were not interested in learning from him and they didn’t. They accepted him as their boss and even as a good boss but he did not really have the same impact on their life beyond the work hours.

Today many people have come to know Jesus Christ as the son of God and have His life within them. But how many people know Him as their mentor and have made a decision to follow after him and become his disciple? How many see him as more than a savior to take them out of this world and to heaven after they are dead. How many see him as someone who they go after to known and can change their life today!

Here is a description of the attitude of the people God was saving –

Num 32:11-12  They do not see — the men who are coming up out of Egypt from a son of twenty years and upward — the ground which I have sworn to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob, for they have not been fully after Me; save Caleb son of Jephunneh the Kenezite, and Joshua son of Nun, for they have been fully after Jehovah;

Joshua and Caleb were disciples of the Lord but the rest of Israel i.e. the church in the wilderness was not! The Israelites had embraced the Lord to bring them out of Egypt i.e. the world but not to bring them into the promised land i.e. the kingdom of God.  end part 1

One response

  1. brotherjohnny

    YES! To follow the Risen and Living Lord Jesus, to desire to have Him fully expressed not only in us but AS us as well!

    You’re closing thoughts here on “Egypt i.e. the world” are in tune with some things I have been pondering here:

    http://brotherjohnny.wordpress.com/2008/08/21/john-17-an-initial-breakdown-yikes-a-bible-study/

    If you have the interest, and the time, I would appreciate anything that you have to offer.

    August 24, 2008 at 3:40 pm

Leave a Reply

